How I Clean My Brushes

The easiest way is to clean brushes with a makeup brush cleaner however living on a budget I found an inexpensive way to clean my brushes leaving them smooth and smelling great. It’s important to clean your brushes and sponges every week or so due to any bacteria that can harm the skin as well as any makeup residue that can be passed on to the newly fresh face.

IMG_2267.jpg

The way I clean my brushes is using Baby Shampoo. Baby Shampoo is not very expensive also its available in near stores so its easy to pick up and not having to travel a long way to get a branded makeup cleaner. Here’s how I clean my makeup brushes.

  1. Dampen the brushes in lukewarm water, you want to ensure the shampoo reaches the brushes nicely. Don’t wet the brush all the way you don’t want to interfere with the glue on the bottom as this can make the bristles fall out.
  2. Apply a small amount of baby shampoo on my hand and swirl the brush around until you see some product coming out.
  3. Continue to this until your hand is dirty and full of product.
  4. Wash your hand and the brushes avoid the bottom of the brush because that would make the bristles fall out so much quicker.
  5. Repeat the first step for the second time on the brush to ensure that all the product is removed and the brush is visabily clean.
  6. After the brush if cleaned I swirl the bristles on the towel to get rid of any water leaving it damp and shape the brush into a desired shape and place the brush on the towel to dry.
  7. Repeat the same process with the rest of the brushes until all your brushes are cleared and looking clean on your towel.
  8. They take a few hours to dry so make sure you do it on your day off or during the evening.

If you don’t have baby shampoo there are some other alternatives:

  • Some brands do makeup up cleaners so you can pick that up
  • Hand wash- some brands apply use a nice silk one to ensure the brush is left feeling soft.
  • Any Mild/ Clarifying Shampoo

If you want to make things easier you can purchase a makeup mat, I purchase mine from Beauty bay from the company sigma, you can find the link here. I find this useful as giving a deep clean for my brushes, what I love about this mat is that it’s ideal for both eyes and face brush.

 

Leave a Reply

