My Foundations: The Worst To The Best

IMG_2205

I will be reviewing foundations I have used in the past from the worst to the best. This post will cover high end and drugstore foundation and I would be reviewing them to how they set, apply on my combination skin, their value, packaging and how they apply with a beauty blender. As I use a beauty blender when applying foundation, I would give insight on how that foundation applies with it.

Dior Airflash Foundation

This foundation is a spray foundation allowing a easy way to apply the foundation in a instant. A disadvantage of purchasing this foundation when I bought this was the limited choices of colours to chose from. I had to pick the darkest colour they offered which was close to my skin colour, so if have more of a medium or darker skin tone they is no colour choice for this colour type.

Value

The value of this product is for £36.00. This is far by the most expensive foundation I have purchased to date. I think the amount of product I get makes up for it, but I wish it would be cheaper considering it is a spray foundation.

Packaging

The packaging reminds me of a aerosol bottle, with it’s bulky bottle this product is not ideal for travelling more if you are bringing a big makeup kit with you. I worry that the little would easily come off or the product you spray in my bag if I choose to keep the lid of because there is no lock on the bottle

Application With A Beauty Blender

It is recommend that you apply this product with a brush, however with the brush I feel there a buildup of foundation especially around my forehead. I spray a few centimeters from my face and dab is quickly with my damp beauty blender to blend in the product and works perfectly. Something I saw a blogger do is spray on her sponge and apply it that way.

Best for Combination Skin?

Due to the foundation being so light in the first place, I feel during the day it does tend to melt away especially around my oily t-zone. I end up losing the coverage that the foundation is meant to provide me for so the product ends up not being worth it to put on my face. I feel that this foundation is best for normal skin.

Overall rating of 5

1/5

IMG_2206

Estée Lauder Double Wear

After hearing rave reviews about how amazing this foundation was, I purchased this as well as their setting powder. The first thing I noticed immediately is how my face looked so caked up. Under harsh lights my face looked super pale and unnatural, this could be the liquid is a thick consistency I was so disappointed at this product, as I did have high expectations.

Value

The price of this foundation is £31.00 at Boots.com. It’s a reasonable price for a high end foundation also taking in consideration how much product you get.

Packaging

The packaging is a glass bottle with an unscrewable lid. This feels and look expensive however with no pump I feel I am pouring too much product on the hand.

Application With A Beauty Blender

The product blends nicely with a beauty blender, I prefer this than a brush otherwise I feel this looks very heavy on my skin.

Best for Combination Skin?

This product is sadly not ideal for combination, due to it’s high coverage the product can very easily catch on your textured and dry areas of your skin making your skin worse than it actually is.

Overall Rating out of 5

I would give this a 1 of 5 as well, mainly I was disappointed how the product reacted to my skin no matter how often I try it.

I have heard mixed reviews about this product. Personally it’s a hit or miss for me, I only use this product if I have run out of foundation, so this would be a last resort.

Value

The value of this product sells for £33.50.

Packaging

The packaging is stored a heavy and long glass bottle with a pump and lid. This is one of my favourite packaging but it comes with a pump! The packaging is absolutely stunning, and it fits in the YSL collection.

Application With A Beauty Blender

I think this product applies well with a beauty blender, I only need two small pumps when using this foundation.

Best for Combination Skin?

This fits well with my skin, it has a medium coverage which is build able to give the coverage you need. I have heard that this product is not ideal for dry skin, so it’s best to get a tester from your closet YSL counter to put this to the test.

Overall Rating out of 5

Out of 5 i would give this a rating 4. The only disadvantage is that there a undertone with it, with my foundation I get a pink undertone making my face looking darker than usual.

IMG_2208

One of the most popular foundations in the blogger world. This gives the ultimate full coverage that I need, however due to this I only wear this on occasions. The first time I got this I ended up with the right match, however a few hours later this product oxidized badly on my skin so I had to swap it for a lighter shade.

Value

The value of this product is £23.50, one the cheapest foundations on this list!

Packaging

The packaging comes in a glass bottle with an unscrewable lid. Unfortunately you will need to purchase the pump separately which cost you an extra £3.

Application With A Beauty Blender

I feel this applies best with a brush, due to its heavy coverage. With a beauty blender this can look heavy on the skin while the brush can blend it beautifully in the skin.

Best for Combination Skin?

Yes! This is best for combination skin, just a need a touch up around the T-Zone area because that is wear it can get the oil builds up the most.

Overall Rating out of 5

This gets a rating out of 4 out of 5.

 

NARS Sheer Glow foundation

My friend Jade recommended this to me and I haven’t looked back. Thanks Jade! This is one of my favourite products yet along with the radiant cream concealer.

Value

This product is sold for £32.00, alongside with a optional pump which is £3.00

Packaging

The packaging a glass bottle with a unscrewable lid. I love how small and bulky it is meaning it won’t get lost in your makeup bag.

Application With A Beauty Blender

I always use a beauty blender with this product and I feel this gives the foundation an amazing finish. I have tried it with a brush but I feel it’s not the same.

Best for Combination Skin?

This is perfect for combination skin. Due to its finish not being matte, no dry patches would show. Just a quick touch up with powder on the T-Zone otherwise it will be fine.

Overall Rating out of 5

I would give this a rating 4 out of 5.

IMG_2207

 

4 thoughts on “My Foundations: The Worst To The Best

  1. I’ve tried a couple of these foundations and I agree Nars is by far the best!! I also found the Mac one oxidised on me too so it’s definitely something to be wary about when purchasing x

    Like

Leave a Reply

