How To Make Straightened Hair Last!

IMG_2036.jpg

I have been straightening my hair since I was 15, over the past 4 years I have tried and failed into making my straighten hair last and not go so frizzy on me. Thankfully, with the help or YouTube and my own research here are my tips and tricks into making your straighten hair last!

1. Start in the shower

Start with the right shampoo and conditioner as some might not be suitable for the straightening purpose no matter how good they smell and feel. I like to use the L’Oreal Elvive Fibrology Thickening Shampoo and Conditioner because this leaves my hair feeling thicker and healthy. Again, it doesn’t need to be expensive they are so much shampoo and conditioners in the high street that are best for this.

1. Using Cool Air

Something I recommend to anyone when straightening your hair. After straightening your hair, the heat will still be on sections of your hair meaning it can manipulate into its own shape and style whenever it feels like (Horrible right?). So, using a hair dryer and setting on cool will allow the hair to be set the minute you put it on the section. This is something I use constantly and it would last up to the time I will next wash it which would be in 2-3 three days time.

2. Protecting The Hair

Using heat protectant can make the hair look less frizzy ensuring you get nice and smooth straight hair. It is also healthy to use a heat protectant so you don’t burn and damage your hair. I like to use the TRESemme Heat Defence Styling Spray as it can be used for all type of heat tools including hair dryers.

3. A Good Straightening Balm

Straightening balms are there to ensure you get the smooth and silky finish for your hair. I’m not the one to purchase a straightening balm but in the past I have used it and it does make a difference to my hair.

4. Invest In A Powerful Straightener

By this, I don’t mean buy the top of the range straightener that are priced £200 and above. Some smaller brands do give the same result and are much more affordable. From experience, I have had my fair share of different brands and so far for my curly hair I love the brands Babyliss and Remington straighteners and still continue to my Remington straighteners three years straight!

5. Seal The Deal

When I finish straightening my hair I always apply some argon oil to present any frizz and fly aways. Oil keeps the hair soft throughout the day and you can apply some oil even before you start straightening your hair, I feel this makes a huge difference.

6. Straighten On Dry Hair

Straightening on wet hair can lead to your hair being damaged as well as over straightening it until it’s completely dry. You can try a trick to blow dry and then straighten your hair to save time, or you can ensure your hair is 90% dry in order to keep the hair looking smooth.

Leave a Reply

